top of page


The AES Lifetime Achievement Award is given for exceptional career contributions to the fields of Electrophoresis, Electrokinetics, and related areas. One award is presented every year at the AES Annual Meeting. The recipient of the award will receive a plaque, a certificate of lifetime membership in the society, and one complementary registration to the annual meeting where the award will be presented.

2023 Recipient

James P. Landers

James Landers is a Jefferson Scholars Fellow and Commonwealth Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and an Associate Professor of Pathology at the University of Virginia.  He co-founded MicroLab Diagnostics in 2008 where he has served as a CSO.  MicroLab entered into partnership with Lockheed Martin in 2008 in a project focused on delivering a microfluidic DNA analysis platform for forensic analysis.  In 2010, MicroLab merged with ZyGEM Corp. to leverage the powerful suite of reagents they had developed and build on the company’s synergies around nucleic acid extraction and detection.  That company currently exists as MicroGEM International.

James received his Bachelor of Science degree in Biochemistry with a minor in Biomedicine at the University of Guelph in Ontario (Canada) in 1984.  He earned his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the same department in 1988.  After a one-year post-doctoral fellowship at the Banting Institute at the University of Toronto’s School of Medicine, he was awarded a Canadian Medical Research Council (MRC) Fellowship to study cancer biology and diagnostics under Dr. Thomas Spelsberg, a breast cancer biochemist at the Mayo Clinic.  He launched and directed the Clinical Capillary Electrophoresis Facility in the Department of Lab Medicine and Pathology at Mayo developing clinical assays using capillary electrophoretic technology.


Research efforts have focused on generating rapid prototype microdevices for separations, DNA purification and DNA amplification, as well as devices that fluidically-integrate on-chip sample preparation with analysis.  In addition to editing three editions of the Handbook of Capillary Electrophoresis, he has authored more than 265 peer-reviewed papers and 25 book chapters ranging from receptor biochemistry and capillary electrophoretic method development, to microchip fabrication and integrated microfluidic systems for application in the clinical and forensic arenas. This includes two chapter the Tietz Handbook of Clinical Chemistry. He has edited three editions of the CRC Press Handbook of Capillary Electrophoresis, was the recipient of the 2008 Association for Lab Automation ‘Innovative Technology of the Year’ Award, and serves as the CoEditor-in-Chief for the journal Analytica Chimica Acta which currently has an impact factor of 6.58, and the recipient of the 2022 SCIEX Microscale Separations Innovation Medal and the 2023 AES Lifetime Award for Contributions to the Field of Electrophoresis.


Past Winners

2022  Adrienne R. Minerick

2021  Juan G. Santiago

2020  Philippe Renaud
2019  Hsueh-Chia (Chia) Chang

2018  Norman Dovichi

2017  Ron Pethig

2016  Jean-Louis Viovy

2015  Cornelius Ivory

2014  Pier Giorgio Righetti

2012  Nancy Stellwagan

2011  Kelvin H. Lee

bottom of page