Neil Ivory honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award of the AES Electrophoresis Society

Neil Ivory, the Paul Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor at Washington State University, has been honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award by the AES Electrophoresis Society in the society’s annual meeting held in Salt Lake City November 9-12.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the fields of electrophoresis, electrokinetics and related areas. The governing board of the society elected Neil “for major advances in alternative electrophoretic focusing methods, including those employing gradients of velocity, electric field, conductivity, and temperature, all of which have potential for protein purifications”. Previous winners of this award include Pier Giorgio Righetti, Nancy Stellwagen and Kelvin Lee.

Prof. Ivory earned his BS in Chemical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame in 1974 and his PhD at Princeton University in 1980. He was part of the Bioseparations group at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center as a USRA Visiting Scientist in 1981. After starting his academic career at the University of Notre Dame, in 1987 he found his home in the School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering at Washington State University where his research group develops multidimensional separation platforms using microfluidic/nanofluidic labchips. In 2014 he became the inaugural Paul M. Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering in the Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, and as of 2015 continues to serve as Associate Director of the NIH Predoctoral Training Program in Protein Biotechnology at Washington State University, and as Senior Fellow in the Biomedical Engineering Center at the University of New Mexico. He has served as National Program Chair for the American Chemical Society and as Councilor for the AES Electrophoresis Society (formerly the American Electrophoresis Society). Dr. Ivory has more than 90 refereed publications, 200 oral presentations at technical meetings, 10 patents awarded and several more patent applications pending.

“Professor Ivory has produced several pioneering works that shape the field of applied electrokinetics and separations. He is generous leader and truly interested in supporting the professional community” said Mark Hayes, president of AES 2013-2015.

About the AES Electrophoresis Society

The AES Electrophoresis Society, previously the American Electrophoresis Society or AES, is a unique organization founded in 1980 to improve and promote technologies for electrophoretic separation and detection. With time, this focus has expanded to include all electrokinetic and related techniques for the advancement of different fields. The expertise of our members stretches from electrophoresis to dielectrophoresis and micro/nanofluidics with application in healthcare diagnostics, forensics, and advanced manufacturing. The mission of the society is to promote excellence across diverse disciplines; facilitate communication between members worldwide; facilitate the training of scientists and students in electrokinetic technologies; and facilitate peers training peers across the globe. This mission is supported by hosting forums and conferences, recognizing the top talent in electrokinetics and supporting the development of the next generation of researchers and educators.