Norman Dovichi honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award of the AES Electrophoresis Society

Professor Norman Dovichi, the Grace Rupley Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame in Notre Dame, IN, USA, has been honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award by the AES Electrophoresis Society in the society's annual meeting held in Atlanta, GA October 21-26.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the fields of electrophoresis, electrokinetics and related areas. The governing board of the society elected Prof. Dovichi "for the development and fundamental characterization of cutting edge, often unconventional analytical instrumentation for capillary electrophoresis, and application to the most challenging biological applications such as the Human Genome Project". Previous winners of this award include Ron Pethig, Neil Ivory, Pier Giorgio Righetti, Nancy Stellwagen and Kelvin Lee.

Prof. Dovichi is a Fellow of the AAAS and has received widespread recognition for his scientific achievements and contributions to the profession, including the Steacie Prize, the ANACHEM Award, and the Ralph Adams Award. Prof. Dovichi is an Associate Editor of Analytical Chemistry, and has served in numerous editorial positions for journals such as Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry, Electrophoresis, and Scientific Reports. He has supervised 40 postdoctoral fellows, more than 75 graduate students, and more than 60 undergraduate researchers. Prof. Dovichi is the author of more than 300 journal articles, is the holder of 11 issued patents, and has delivered 35 named lectures and nearly 150 plenary and award lectures.

"Our society is proud to honor Prof. Dovichi for his many achievements. The impact of his scholarship is far reaching, from his important contribution to the Human Genome project to the formation of many productive scholars throughout the years. We are excited to celebrate him" said Rodrigo Martinez-Duarte, president of AES 2017-2019.