2018 Annual Meeting at SciX
October 21 - 25, 2018, Atlanta Marriot Marquis, Atlanta, GA
A dynamic technical program charged with the latest developments in Electrokinetics, Electrophoresis, Dielectrophoresis, Separations and Microfluidics
  • Reduced registration fees
  • Gala dinner and brown bag lunches included in registration
  • Transdisciplinary interaction with SciX associated societies
  • All AES awards presented in one venue
  • Introducing the AES "Blue Fingers" Student Award
  • Following AES tradition, student poster session presented
  • Join us for the Opening Ceremony and AES student Award ceremony on Sunday October 21st

AES program: Final program is here: Oral Sessions & Poster Session

Poster session winners! Alan Jiang, Shannon Huey Hilton and Laura Castro presented the best posters. Read more here.

Student travel grants winners! Read more here

AES “Blue Fingers” Student Award: Deadline has passed. Winner is Claire V. Crowther from Arizona State University. Claire's information is here..

Lunch with Leaders!

The following established researchers attended our LWL event:

AES Workshop on Sunday October 21, 9 am - 4 pm: AES has organized an excellent workshop by Professor Neil C. Ivory from Washington State University. The title of the workshop is "Electrokinetic Microfluidics: Theory and Hands-on Problems.” The instructor will provide copies of the latest COMSOL numerical simulation software, including a temporary license, and work through example problems on electrokinetic transport in micro/nano-fluidic devices. Workshop cost $50 for students, $450 for conferee and $550 for non-conferee. Please include your registration for this workshop with your conference registration.

Registration is now closed. Registration cost for AES Members (includes gala dinner and two brown bag lunches): AES Member $650 and AES Students $250. You need your AES member number to receive the special registration price.

Special proceedings issue with ELECTROPHORESIS: AES is pleased to team again with the journal ELECTROPHORESIS to publish a special proceedings issue featuring of the work presented at the AES Annual Meeting. Please click here for further details.

Quick Links
Meet our organizers!
Alexandra Ros

Dr. Alexandra Ros is an Associate Professor in the School of Molecular Sciences and faculty member of the Center for Applied Structural Discovery (CASD) at the Biodesign Institute at Arizona State University. She received her Diploma in Chemistry from the Ruprecht-Karls University in Heidelberg, Germany, and her PhD from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland. Since her PhD, Dr. Ros has been interested in microfluidic platforms and their analytical applications. Dr. Ros joined the Biophysics and Nanoscience Group at Bielefeld University, Germany, in 2000 where she followed her interests in microfluidics and biophysics during her post doctoral training. From 2001-2007, she served as principle investigator at Bielefeld University, Germany, on several projects investigating migration mechanisms and single cell analysis in the microfluidic format. In 2007, she finished her Habilitation and received the Venia Legendi in Experimental Physics from Bielefeld University. Dr. Ros joined Arizona State University in 2008 as Assistant Professor where she was promoted to Associate Professor in 2014. In the same year she became faculty member of the Center for Applied Structural Discovery (CASD) at the Biodesign Institute. In 2015-16, Dr. Ros was appointed visiting scientist at the Georg-August University Göttingen, Germany. She received a NSF Career Award in 2012 as well as a Fellowship for Experienced Researchers from the Alexander-von-Humboldt Foundation, Germany, in 2015. Dr. Ros' current research interests include migration mechanisms in the micro- and nanoenvironment, single cell analysis, surface design and developing microfluidic tools for crystallography.

Blanca H. Lapizco-Encinas

Blanca H. Lapizco-Encinas is an Associate Professor in the Department Biomedical Engineering at the Rochester Institute of Technology. Her current research efforts are focused on the development of microscale electrokinetic techniques for the manipulation of bioparticles. Her main research objective is to develop electrokinetic-based microdevices that would answer the needs of a wide array of applications, from cell assessments for clinical/biomedical applications to food safety and environmental monitoring. Her research work has been funded by the NSF and other funding agencies in the US and Mexico. Her research efforts have received awards from the Mexican Academy of Sciences and the L'OREAL for Women in Science program. Research findings from her group have been published in numerous peer-reviewed journals articles and presented at international conferences. She serves as a Deputy Editor for the Journal ELECTROPHORESIS and has served as Vice-President and Councilor for the AES Electrophoresis Society.