2016 Annual Meeting

November 14-16, 2016

Parc 55 Hotel Union Square, Embarcadero Room

55 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, California, USA, 94102

Note - AIChE will be at the Hilton San Francisco Union Square, 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, California, 94102 (right across the street from the Parc 55 Hotel).

Once again, AES is assembling a 3 day meeting with outstanding technical, plenary and award sessions with associated events. Please join us.

Early registration deadline: October 3, 2016
Register at a discounted rate

Late Breaking Posters
Deadline: October 17th 2016

AES Special Workshop - Sunday, November 13th, 12:00 - 6:00 pm

  • 12-1 PM - Lunch and COMSOL software for new users
  • Ben Hawkins: Physics in COMSOL and Assessing Simulations
  • 1-2 PM - John Dunec: Review of COMSOL Capabilities
  • 2-3 PM - John Dunec: Hands-on Training Session in COMSOL
  • 3-4 PM - Mranal Jain: COMSOL + MatLAB
  • 4-6 PM - Mike Hughes: DEP for Characterization and Separation
  • Location: Serrano Hotel, 405 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA
  • Cost: Includes entire session, lunch, and COMSOL software; $100 / $75 student

Make plans to attend this informative workshop at the AES Annual Meeting! Please click here for registration.

Conference Proceedings

The 2016 AES conference proceedings will be published in the Journal ELECTROPHORESIS.

Each lecture and poster presenter is encouraged to submit a manuscript to the journal Electrophoresis for inclusion in the Proceedings of AES 2016. Note that each manuscript will be reviewed as normal following the policy of the Journal. Manuscripts should be submitted through the Electrophoresis web site by no later than December 15, 2016. The issue will be in print in May 2017. For questions regarding this special issue, please contact the Co-Editors Fatima Labeed, Lisa Flanagan, or Blanca Lapizco.

Award Speakers

Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
Affiliated member, Department of Physics
University of Zurich
Professor, Department of Chemistry
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor of Pathology
University of Virginia

Departments of Biomedical Engineering
Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Professor of Chemistry
Nagoya University
Professor, Institut Curie
Research Director, CNRS

Achievement Award

Jean-Louis Viovy

Professor Jean-Louis Viovy, a Research Director at the Institut Curie in Paris, France, has been honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award by the AES Electrophoresis Society in the society’s annual meeting held in San Francisco, CA November 14-16.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the fields of electrophoresis, electrokinetics and related areas. The governing board of the society elected Jean-Louis “for his outstanding work on capillary electrophoresis, including chip electrophoresis, of DNA”. Previous winners of this award include Neil Ivory, Pier Giorgio Righetti, Nancy Stellwagen and Kelvin Lee.

Prof. Viovy is Research Director at the CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) in France. Since 1999, he leads within the Institut Curie (UMR168) the MMBM team (Macromolecules and Microsystems in Biology and Medicine) comprising about 25 researchers (permanent, Engineers, PhD students and postdocs). He was awarded the Bronze Medal of the CNRS (1983), the Polymer Prize of the French Chemical Society (1996), the Philip Morris Scientific Prize in 1996 (with F. Caron, D. Chatenay and R. Lavery) and two OSEO Entrepreneurship Awards in 2004 and 2005. He is author or co-author of more than 220 articles (h-factor 45) and 22 patents. He has been involved in seven European projects, including 3 as coordinator. He was recently granted with ERC funding (advanced grant) on the topic of development of artificial organs. He is member of the board of the Chemical and Biological Microsystems Society, which organizes the MicroTAS conference, and was chairman of this conference in 2007 in Paris.

Plenary Session Speakers

University of California at Irvine, CA, USA

Oregon State University, Oregon, USA

Stanford University, CA, USA

Medical Research Council-Laboratory of Molecular Biology (MRC-LMB), Cambridge, UK

Institute of Chemistry, University of Sao Paulo

Catch up on the latest developments in the field of electrokinetics, microfluidics, and related technologies in the sessions listed here.
  • Electrokinetics and Microfluidics for Biomolecular Analysis
    Chairs: Zachary Gagnon and Sagnik Basuray
  • Electrokinetics for Cellular Analysis & Separation
    Chairs: Soumya Srivastava and Tayloria Adams
  • Soft Matter Electrokinetics: Particles, Drops and Bubbles
    Chairs: Christopher Wirth and Stuart Williams
  • Electrokinetics: Advancing the Fundamentals
    Chairs: Mike Hughes and Nathan Swami
  • Electrokinetics for Sample Preparation
    Chairs: Mark Hayes and Michael Heller
  • Electrokinetics in Non Polar Media
    Chairs: Kyle Bishop and Michael Sano
  • Electrokinetics for Biological Separation and Analysis
    Chairs: Adrienne Minerick and Erin Henslee

See full program here.


  • Lunch with Leaders. Student and postdoc members are invited to join established researchers for an opportunity to interact informally, share advice, and have fun.
  • Networking Social. Meet your AES colleagues for food and drink to discuss new ideas.
  • AES Poster Session. One of our most popular events. Awards are given to the best student posters.
  • AES Award Session. Help us celebrate the achievements of colleagues in our field.
  • AES Business Meeting. Your chance to get involved with AES and help plan future meetings.
  • AES Banquet. Wrap up the conference on a high note with the AES family.
  • AES Plenary Session. Join some of the top researchers in our field to share unique insights and perspectives in an interactive format.

2016 Meeting Organizers

University of Surrey Centre for Biomedical Engineering
Guildford, GU2 7XH
England, UK
Dr. Fatima Labeed is a Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) at the University of Surrey in the Centre for Biomedical Engineering. Her research focuses on the application of dielectrophoresis to diverse subject areas including stem cells, drug discovery, cancer diagnosis and circadian biology where she has developed an international portfolio of collaborations. Dr. Labeed earned her first degree in Biochemistry from University of London, followed by a Masters in Clinical Biochemistry with Molecular Biology and a Ph.D., both from the University of Surrey, and has also worked in industry at Pfizer‘s Parke-Davis Research Centre in Cambridge. She has co-edited a book for the Royal Society of Chemistry on microengineered detection methods.
University of California Irvine
3030 Gross Hall
845 Health Sciences Rd.
Irvine, CA 92697-1705
Dr. Lisa Flanagan is Associate Professor and Vice Chair for Research in the Department of Neurology at the University of California, Irvine, with joint appointments in Biomedical Engineering and Anatomy and Neurobiology. Dr. Flanagan‘s research program combines neural cell biology and bioengineering to develop non-invasive methods to identify the fate potential of stem cells with the goal of improving the use of these cells to repair the brain and spinal cord. Before joining UCI, Dr. Flanagan completed her Ph.D. at University of California, San Diego and post-doctoral training at Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts. She serves on the Editorial Board for Scientific Reports and is a recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award.