2015 Annual Meeting

November 9-11, 2015

Salt Palace Convention Center

Salt Lake City, Utah

Once again, AES is assembling a 3 day meeting with outstanding technical sessions. The call for papers is now open. AES also sponsors Plenary and Award sessions, and associated events:

Poster Session Winners

Conference Exhibitors

AES invites exhibitors at their annual meeting. For a price of $1500 plus a lunch reception, exhibitors get a presentation spot over the lunch period, a table to exhibit products, one "full meeting" pass and two "exhibitor only" passes. Potential exhibitors can view more details at our conference exhibitors page or email nswami@virginia.edu.

Plenary Speakers

Lester John and Lynne Dewar Lloyd
Dist. Professor of Bioengineering
University of California, Berkeley
Professor of Electromagnetism
Faculty of Physics
University of Seville
(AC Electrokinetics)

Ralph N. Adams Distinguished
Professor of Chemistry
The University of Kansas
(Microchip electrophoresis)
Helen C. Kurtz Chair
Chemical & Biomolecular Eng
The Ohio State University
(Micro/nanofluidic electroporation)
Bayer Professor of Chemical &
Biomolecular Engineering
University of Notre Dame
(Nanofluidics for microRNA analysis)

Achievement Award

Cornelius F. Ivory

Cornelius F. Ivory earned his BS in Chemical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame in 1974 and his PhD at Princeton University in 1980 followed by a year as a USRA Visiting Scientist in the Bioseparations group at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center. After starting his academic career at the University of Notre Dame, in 1987 he found his home in the School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering at Washington State University where his research group develops multidimensional separation platforms using microfluidic/nanofluidic labchips.

Last year he became the inaugural Paul M. Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering in the Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, and continues to serve as Associate Director of the NIH Predoctoral Training Program in Protein Biotechnology at Washington State University, and as Senior Fellow in the Biomedical Engineering Center at the University of New Mexico. He has served as National Program Chair for the American Chemical Society (3 years) and as Councilor for the American Electrophoresis Society (8 years) as well as organizing various symposia and/or sessions for those societies and others, organizing and/or serving on various proposal review panels, editorial boards and technical workshops. Dr. Ivory has more than 90 refereed publications, 200 oral presentations at technical meetings, 10 patents awarded and several more patent applications pending.

During his 30-odd years full-time in academia, he has divided his time roughly as follows: 40% teaching undergraduate and graduate core and elective courses, 50% research and 10% administration. Virtually all of his research has been funded by external grants and performed by graduate students and post-docs. Currently he is funded as PI by grants from NSF, NIH, DOD and through a Washington State program known as the Life Science Discovery Fund.


  • Late Breaking Posters. Deadline October 19th 2015
  • Technical Programs. Catch up on the latest developments in the field of electrokinetics, microfluidics, and related technologies.
  • AES Plenary Session. Join some of the top researchers in our field share unique insights and perspectives in an interactive format.
  • Lunch with Leaders. Student and postdoc members are invited to join established researchers for an opportunity to interact informally, share advice, and have fun.
  • Networking Social. Meet your AES colleagues for food and drink to discuss new ideas.
  • AES Poster Session. One of our most popular events. Awards are given to the best student posters.
  • AES Award Session. Help us celebrate the achievements of colleagues in our field
  • AES Business Meeting. Your chance to get involved with AES and help plan future meetings.
  • AES Banquet. Wrap-up the conference on a high note with the AES family.

The Organizers

University of Virginia
Thornton Hall - C218
351 McCormick Rd
Charlottesville, VA
22904-1000 USA
Nathan Swami is Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the Univer‐ sity of Virginia (UVA), Charlottesville, VA. His group is focused on the device, circuit and signal processing hierarchies for applying microfluidic devices towards biomolecular analy‐ sis, cell manipulation and tissue engineering. He co‐directs UVA’s Nano/Biosystems Integra‐ tion Centre that specializes in soft lithography based rapid prototyping. Prior to University of Virginia, he was on the scientific staff of Motorola Labs and Clinical Microsensors, Inc., a Caltech start‐up interfacing microelectronics to bio‐analysis.
University of Surrey Centre for Biomedical Engineering
Duke of Kent Bldg
Guildford, GU2 7TE
United Kingdom
Michael Pycraft Hughes is Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Surrey, UK. He obtained a Master of Engineering in Electronic Engineering from the University Col‐ lege of North Wales (Bangor) in 1992, and remained at the institution for a PhD (1995), followed by a postdoc in Glasgow until 1998. Since 1999, he has been on the faculty at the University of Surrey, becoming head of Biomedical Engineering in 2008. His lab focus is on development of novel low‐cost tools for dielectrophoresis, developing new applications for biological DEP, and theoretical study of nanoscale DEP. He is co‐founder of DEPtech, the first company to bring DEP‐based electrophysiology analysis to market.