2014 Annual Meeting Plenary Speakers

Michael Pycraft Hughes

Hailing from Holy Island off the Welsh coast, Professor Michael Pycraft Hughes was appointed Professor of Biomedical Engineering in 2008 after joining the University of Surrey as a lecturer in 1999. His 20-year research career has primarily focussed on the development of dielectrophoresis - primarily to the development of DEP-based assays. He also has broader interests in electric fields and cells at the microscale, and has published work with DSTL on sensor enhancement using microfluidics (which resulted in three patent applications), microelectrode devices for neural sensing, and simulations of laser removal of tattoos. He has written or co-written over 60 journal publications and two books, and has presented invited talks in the UK, US, France, Spain, Italy, Qatar, China and India. Since 2008, Mike has been Director of the Centre for Biomedical Engineering at the University of Surrey, one of the oldest positions in Biomedical Engineering (first appointment having been made in 1965). For six years 2008-13 he was Editor in Chief of IEEE Transactions on Nanobioscience. The main theme of Mike’s research group has been the development of technology to enable DEP to be more widely used. DEP has been applied to biology for over half a century but uptake has been low because research elsewhere has led to more costly and cumbersome devices. The Surrey group has pioneered the development of technology that is low-cost, user-friendly and which complies with the needs of the user rather than the designer; to this end Mike has co-founded a company – DEPtech (www.deptech.com) – to bring the technology developed and patented by the Surrey group (the “DEP-well” and “DEP-dot” platforms) to market, with the first product - the 3DEP reader, based on the DEP-wells - now available.

Brian Kirby

Brian J. Kirby currently directs the Micro/Nanofluidics Laboratory in the Sibley School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Cornell University. He joined the School in August 2004. Previous to that, he was a Senior Member of the Technical Staff in the Microfluidics Department at Sandia National Laboratories in Livermore, California, where he worked from 2001-2004 on microfluidic systems, with applications primarily to counterbioterrorism. From 1996-2001 he worked as a graduate student in the High Temperature Gasdynamics Laboratory at Stanford University, where he developed laser spectroscopy techniques for imaging gases in flames for combustion and aerothermopropulsion applications. From 1994-1996 he worked as a graduate student in the Variable Gravity Research Laboratory at the University of Michigan, studying multiphase heat transfer processes; at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories in Palo Alto, CA, studying fluid mechanics processes in hard drive stacks; and in the Gas Dynamics Research Laboratories in the Aerospace Engineering Department at the University of Michigan, studying soot formation processes in low-pressure diffusion flames. Professor Kirby has received a 2002 R&D Top 100 Invention award for work on microvalves for high pressure-fluid control, a 2004 JD Watson Investigator award for microdevices for protein production and analysis, and a 2006 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) award for nanoscale electrokinetics and bioagent detection. He has received the 2008 Mr. and Mrs. Robert F. Tucker Excellence in Teaching Award, and he has also been selected to participate at the 2008 National Academy of Engineering Frontiers of Engineering conference.

Sumita Pennathur

Pennathur is an Associate Professor in UCSB in the Mechanical Engineering Department. Her research group focuses on using fundamental fluidics knowledge at both micro- and nano-scales to create novel devices for practical applications. Major efforts include, general electrokinetics, creating and developing enabling micro- and nanofluidic tools to identify and characterize chemical and biological compounds, improving current bioanalytical devices, and designing/engineering entire systems for point-of-care usage. Prior to coming to UCSB, Pennathur taught at University of Twente and held multiple positions at various companies and schools such as Sandia National Laboratories, Stanford University, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Tigris Corporation, Lockheed Martin, and MIT. She is the co-author of one textbook and general audience textbook on Nanotechnology, and has won multiple awards including the DARPA Young Faculty Award and the PECASE (Presidential Early Career Award for Science and Engineers).

Jan B. Talbot

Jan Talbot joined the UCSD faculty in 1986 after receiving her Ph.D. in chemical engineering and materials science that same year from the University of Minnesota. In 2001-02, she was president of the Electrochemical Society, and previously served as editor of the society's Interface publication. She is a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society. She was the Chair of the UCSD Academic Senate in 2003-04. Talbot is the Director of the Jacobs School's Chemical Engineering Program and an Associate Dean of the Jacobs School of Engineering. From 1975-81, she worked as a development engineer at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (TN). Professor Talbot's current research areas include electrophoretic deposition of phosphors and nanosized materials, chemical mechanical polishing, and thermochemical hydrogen production. Talbot is particularly interested in synthesis and deposition of phosphors for solid state lighting. She also studies electrodeposition of nanocomposite films.

Orlin Velev

Dr. Orlin Velev received M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Sofia, Bulgaria, while also spending one year as a researcher in Nagayama Protein Array Project in Japan. After graduating in 1996, Velev accepted a postdoctoral position with the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Delaware. He initiated an innovative program in colloidal assembly and nanomaterials and was promoted to research faculty in 1998. In 2001 he formed his new research group in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, North Carolina State University, where he was promoted to an Associate Professor with tenure in 2006, to full professor in 2008 and to Invista chaired professor in 2009. He has contributed more than 135 publications, which have been cited more than 9000 times, and has presented more than 168 invited presentations at major conference and at universities and companies. Recent awards include NSF Career, Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, Sigma Xi, Ralph E. Powe, NC State Alcoa Distinguished Engineering Research, NC Innovator of the Year and election to an ACS Fellow. Velev is a member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of Langmuir and Chemistry of Materials, as well as of Biomicrofluidics and Particle. Velev has established a record of innovative research in the area of nanostructures with electrical and photonic functionality, biosensors and microfluidic devices. He has been the first to synthesize “inverse opals”, one of the most widely studied type of photonic materials today. He also pioneered principles for microscopic biosensors with direct electrical detection, discovered techniques for electric field assembly of nanoparticle microwires and biosensors and investigated novel types of self-assembling supraparticles, Janus particles, rod-like particles and nanofibers. Recently Velev’s group also reported new studies where external fields power self-propelling devices, acting as prototypes of autonomous microrobots, micropumps and micromixers. In addition to teaching several core undergraduate classes, he has been an advocate of incorporating the latest achievements in the areas of nanoscience and nanotechnology in the engineering curriculum.