2013 Annual Meeting
AES program is ready! - light version, detailed version, AICHE page
Save on the AIChE Annual Meeting registration fee!
AES members receive the member’s discounted registration rate, this means savings of $410 ($699 vs. $1109) with early registration for the full meeting. Grad student get to save $180. Fees information is available here. AES will email registration information to all AES members soon. Become an AES member (cost $75) to receive these savings! Further information available here.
AES Workshops!
AES has organized three excellent workshops this year: 1) hands on Microfluidics, 2) Comsol modeling and 3) Gel electrophoresis. The fees are $25 for undergraduates, $50 for students and post-docs, $100 for faculty and industry. When registering for two workshops, the second workshop will be half price. Please click here for further details.
There is still time to submit a late breaking poster!
This year the Poster Session will be held on Tuesday November 5th 2013. Late-breaking contributions from members and non-members are welcome and will be accepted until October 21st 2013. Please click here for further details.
Specials proceedings issue
AES is pleased to team again with the journal ELECTROPHORESIS to publish a special proceedings of the work presented at the AES Annual Meeting. Please click here for further details.

AES's next annual meeting will be November 3-8, 2013 in San Francisco CA. The organizers for the 2013 meeting are Rafael Davalos from Virginia Tech and Amy Herr from University of California at Berkeley. Please email them at davalos@vt.edu or aeh@berkeley.edu with any questions or if you wish to get involved with AES programming!

AES is in the process of putting together a 3 day meeting with outstanding technical sessions. AES also sponsors a Plenary and Award sessions, and events such as the following:

Quick Links

Plenary Speakers
Shelley L. Anna Don Arnold Cindy Harnett Stephen Quake Marc Madou
Department of Chemical and Mechanical Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University
Eksigent Technologies, Inc.
Associate Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Louisville
Professor of Bioengineering
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Stanford University
Chancellor's Professor
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
University of California at Irvine
Meet our organizers!

Rafael V. Davalos
Rafael V. Davalos is an Associate Professor and Faculty Fellow in the Virginia Tech – Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences. He holds Adjunct Appointments at the Virginia Tech Engineering Sciences and Mechanics Department, the Wake Forest Comprehensive Cancer Center and the Wake Forest Institute of Regenerative Medicine. Prior to his career as a faculty member, Davalos was a Principal Member of Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories. Dr. Davalos received his BS from Cornell University and his MS and PhD from the University of California, Berkeley. Dr. Davalos received the 2006 HENAAC award for nation's most promising engineer and is a recipient of the NSF CAREER. Dr. Davalos' invention to treat tumors was listed in NASA Tech Briefs as one of the top 7 technological breakthroughs of '07. He has been a plenary speaker at the Annual Meeting for the Society of Cryobiology, a keynote speaker at ITP 2012, and an invited speaker at the Gordon Research Conference on Bioelectrochemisty. In 2012, Dr. Davalos received the Outstanding Dissertation Advisor of the year award at Virginia Tech and was named a Wallace H. Coulter Fellow. His research interests are in therapeutic electroporation, microfluidics, dielectrophoresis and biotransport.

Amy Herr
Amy E. Herr received a BS degree in Engineering & Applied Science from Caltech and MS and PhD degrees from Stanford University in Mechanical Engineering. She is currently an Associate Professor of Bioengineering at the University of California, Berkeley. From 2002-2007, she was a staff member at Sandia National Laboratories. She has served as Chair and Vice-chair of the Gordon Research Conference (GRC) on the Physics & Chemistry of Microfluidics, as well as on technical program committees for several international conferences. Her major awards include: 2012 'Young Innovator' Award from Analytical Chemistry/CBMS, 2012 Ellen Weaver Award from the Association for Women in Science, 2011 NSF CAREER award, 2010 NIH New Innovator Award, 2010 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (chemistry), 2010 New Investigator Award in Analytical Chemistry from Eli Lilly & Co., & 2009 Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Young Faculty Award. She has been recognized as an outstanding mentor and instructor. Her research interests include bioinstrumentation innovation needed to advance quantitation in life sciences and clinical problems, in particular the study and application of electrokinetic phenomena in multi-stage, heterogeneous bioanalytical microsystems.