2012 Annual Meeting

AES's next annual meeting will be October 28 - November 2 at the Pittsburgh Convention Center in Pittsburgh, PA. The organizers for the 2012 meeting are Yolanda Fintschenko, LabSmith and Aditya Khair, Carnegie Mellon. Please email them at yfintschenko@labsmith.com and akhair@andrew.cmu.edu with any questions.

AES is pleased to announce our meeting will consist of 12 oral sessions and one poster session, with total of 108 contributions in our 3-day meeting. These outstanding technical sessions will include 6 parallel sessions. A preliminary schedule is viewable via the AIChE annual meeting website. Some AES meeting highlights are:

Plenary Speakers
Lunch with Leaders
Award Session in Honor of Dr. Nancy Stellwagen
Quick Links
Meet our organizers!

Yolanda Fintschenko
I am the Director of New Technologies, Marketing and Sales at LabSmith, Inc. in Livermore, CA. LabSmith, Inc. develops and builds laboratory tools that further the art of research. Before joining LabSmith, I managed the Food Safety Technologies group at Thermo Fisher Scientific. Prior to that post I worked for 10 years at Sandia National Laboratories in senior technical and management positions, including four years as manager of the Microfluidics Department. I hold a Ph.D. in Bioanalytical Chemistry from the University of Kansas and completed postdoctoral research at the University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands. I have several patents and multiple publications in microfluidics and bioanalysis. Please visit our website at www.labsmith.com.

Aditya Khair
I am an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. I obtained a PhD in Chemical Engineering from the California Institute of Technology and I was postdoctoral scholar at UC Santa Barbara. A major thrust of my current research concerns electrokinetic phenomena, including electrophoresis and electro-osmosis. It's an exciting time to be in the field. I am delighted to have the opportunity to be one of the organizers of the AES annual meeting this year. We hope to continue the tradition of strong technical programming at the meeting. In addition, we are arranging plenary and award sessions of invited speakers at the cutting-edge of electrophoresis and its applications. Link to web page: www.cheme.cmu.edu/people/faculty/akhair.htm