Previous Awardees
AES Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients
2019 Hsueh-Chia Chang
Bayer Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, USA

For his broad contributions to the field of non-equilibrium electrokinetics that have led to new micro- and nanofluidic technologies for integrated biochips, service and leadership as Founding and Chief Editor (2007-2018) of the AIP journal Biomicrofluidics, mentorship of researchers, and technical contributions spanning academia and industry.

2018 Norman Dovichi
Grace Rupley Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, USA

For the development and fundamental characterization of cutting edge, often unconventional analytical instrumentation for capillary electrophoresis, and application to the most challenging biological applications such as the Human Genome Project.

2017 Ron Pethig
Professor of Bioelectronics
School of Engineering
The University of Edinburgh
+44 07709 766656

For his exceptional experimental, theoretical and entrepreneurial contributions to make Dielectrophoresis a mainstream technology. As of 2017, Prof. Pethig has published more papers and has been cited more times on Dielectrophoresis than any other researcher in history. Furthermore, the second, third and fifth most published authors to date in the field were all his former PhD students.

2016 Jean-Louis Viovy
Professor and Research Director
Macromolecules and Microsystems in Biology and Medicine Laboratory
Institut Curie, Paris, France

For sustained development of electrokinetic methods in both capillary and microchip formats and application of these advances to biomedical research.

2015 Cornelius Ivory
Paul Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor
The Gene and Linda Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Washington State University

For major advances in alternative electrophoretic focusing methods, including those employing gradients of velocity, electric field, conductivity, and temperature, all of which have potential for protein purifications.

2014 Pier Giorgio Righetti (see below for clarification)
Full Professor
Dipartimento di Chimica, Materiali ed Ingegneria Chmica “G. Natta”
Politecnico di Milano

For developing isoelectric focusing in immobilized pH gradients, multicompartment electrolyzers with isoelectric membranes, membrane-trapped enzyme reactors, temperature-programmed capillary electrophoresis and combinatorial peptide ligand libraries for detection of the low-abundance proteome. With an h-index of 60 his work has received citations ranging from 1000 to 1200 per year from 2005 to 2012.

2013 none
2012 Nancy Stellwagen
Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa
2011 Kelvin H. Lee
U Delaware
Gore Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Delaware Biotechnology Institute
University of Delaware
AES Mid-Career Achievement Award Nominations
2019 Christopher J. Easley
C. Harry Knowles Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Auburn University

For the development of novel microanalytical techniques that enable unique experiments on biological systems, notably droplet-based microfluidic methods and small-volume protein assays using aptamers and antibodies to study secretions from small numbers of cells in intact, primary tissue.

2018 Michael Roper
Pfeiffer Professor for Cancer Research
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Florida State University

For exceptional contributions to the field of electrophoresis, microfluidics, and related areas by an individual who is currently in the middle of their career.

2017 R Scott Martin
Department of Chemistry
Saint Louis University

For his exceptional contributions to advance the use of microchip-based electrophoretic systems to study cellular systems.

2016 Amy Herr
Lester John & Lynne Dewar Lloyd Distinguished Professor
Department of Bioengineering
University of California, Berkeley

For outstanding contributions to the fields of microfluidics, electokinetics and the development of groundbreaking new technologies for single cell protein analysis.

2015 Adam Woolley
Professor and Associate Department Chair
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Brigham Young University

For pioneering advances in electrically driven microfluidic separations for both genomic and proteomic analyses and for development of novel fabrication techniques materials for microfluidics

2014 Kevin Dorfman
Associate Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
University of Minnesota

For exceptional contributions to the field of electrophoresis, microfluidics, and related areas by an individual who is currently in the middle of their career.

2013 Todd Squires
Professor and Department Vice Chair
Department of Chemical Engineering
University of California, Santa Barbara

For exceptional contributions to the field of electrophoresis, microfluidics, and related areas by an individual who is currently in the middle of their career.

AES Distinguished Service Award Recipients
2015 Adrienne R. Minerick
Associate Dean for Research and Innovation
Professor, Chemical Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Michigan Tech University
2014 none
2013 David Garfin
Formerly Proteomics Applications Manager at Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc
Victor Ugaz
Chemical Engineering
Texas A&M University
2012 Larry Grossman
Henry L. Brasza Professor of Molecular Medicine and Genetics
Director, Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics
Professor of Internal Medicine
Wayne State University
Nancy Kendrick
President, Kendrick Laboratories
AES Blue Fingers Student Awardees
2019 Anna Nielsen
Ph.D. Student
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Brigham Young University

Anna Nielsen is the 2019 winner of the AES Blue Fingers Award recognizing the most outstanding student paper submitted for the AES Annual Conference by a graduate student. Anna is a Chemistry Ph.D. student at Brigham Young University studying microfluidics and 3D printing with Dr. Adam Woolley. She was born in Utah and received a Bachelor's degree in Chemistry from Brigham Young University-Idaho. Anna is currently preparing to defend her dissertation and is currently starting up a business called Acrea 3D, which will market high resolution 3D printers for rapid prototyping and development of microfluidic devices. In her free time, Anna enjoys hiking, reading, and playing tennis.

2018 Claire V. Crowther
Ph.D. Candidate
School of Molecular Sciences
Arizona State University

Claire V. Crowther, a Ph.D. candidate in her last year with Professor Mark A. Hayes at the Arizona State University School of Molecular Sciences, has won the inaugural Blue Fingers Award for the most outstanding graduate student paper submitted to the AES Annual Meeting, held at SciX 2018. Claire's research focuses on using electrokinetic forces to probe and separate a variety of biological samples in microfluidic devices. Various projects she works on include the development and implementation of a high-resolution separations device, rapid identification of three of the pathogenic serovars of Listeria monocytogenes, separation of protists present in the hindgut of termites, and probing the effect of various surface treatments on E. coli.