AES Constitution and Bylaws have been revised (see here); comments are strongly encouraged from the membership before September 30th via the comments page.


Article I - Name

The name of the Society shall be The Electrophoresis Society, Incorporated. Pursuant to the original certificate of incorporation, this society shall conform to the provisions of the Membership Corporation Law of the State of South Carolina.

Article II - Object

The Society shall be a nonprofit organization conducted for scientific and educational purposes, to advance and promulgate knowledge in all areas of the field of electrophoresis as used in both applied and research applications. Said corporation is organized exclusively for educational and scientific purposes, including, for such purposes, the making of distributions to organizations that qualify as exempt organizations under section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (or the correct Revenue Law).

Article III - Membership

Membership in the Society shall be open to qualified individuals who share the purposes of the Society as their common interest.

Article IV - Officers


    The officers of the Society, elected by the members, shall be a President, who shall serve for two (2) years; a President-Elect, who shall serve for two (2) years in effect as Vice President, and then shall be designated as President for the following two (2) years; a Secretary and a Treasurer, each of whom shall serve for three (3) years; and the Immediate Past President, who shall serve in that office for two (2) years. The President-Elect shall serve for no longer than two (2) consecutive terms. If the President chooses to run again for a second two-year term, he/she must submit a written request to the President-Elect in time to be on the next election ballot. In such an event, the President-Elect may be placed on the ballot for President-Elect. The Secretary and the Treasurer shall serve for not more than two (2) consecutive terms, or six (6) consecutive years. The terms for the Secretary and the Treasurer shall not coincide: in such event, the next term of the Secretary shall be three (3) years and of the Treasurer shall be two (2 years, and thereafter (3) years. Whenever an incumbent officer is on a ballot for re-election, the work "incumbent" must appear by his/her name.


    The President shall be the Chief Executive Officer of the Society, and the President-Elect shall be the second-ranking Executive Officer of the Society.


    Each officer shall hold office for the elected term and until a successor has been elected and qualified.


    Only the President, President-Elect, Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Society's Legal Counsel may make official statements on behalf of the Society. This limitation does not apply to the conduct of routine business transactions.

Article V - Council

Scientific and business obligations of the Society shall be conducted by the Council, which is composed of the officers of the Society plus the Immediate Past President and six Councilors. The Immediate Past President shall remain a member of Council during his/her term. The six Councilors shall be elected for three (3) year terms and elections shall be arranged so that the terms of two Councilors expire each year. No Councilor may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms or six (6) consecutive years. Councilors shall be elected at the same time as the officers. The editor of the Journal will be an ex-officio member of the Council without vote. The President, at his/her discretion, may invite national chapter presidents to meet with the Council as non-voting members.

Article VI - Affiliations

The Society is empowered to incorporate and to affiliate with other organizations so as to serve the best interest of its scientific purposes.

Article VII - Bylaws

The Constitution of the Society and its provisions shall be carried out according to the current Bylaws of the Society.

Article VIII - Amendments

This Constitution or any one or more articles thereof may, at any meeting of the membership, be amended by changing, altering, adding to, suspending or repealing the same by members entitled to vote at such a meeting in accordance with the current Bylaws of the Society.

Article IX - Dissolution

In the event of dissolution, the residual assets of the organization will be turned over to one or more organizations, which themselves are exempt as organizations described in sections 501(c)(3) and 170(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or corresponding sections of any prior or future law, or to the Federal, State, or local government for exclusive public purpose.

Article X - Corporation Type

Notwithstanding any other provision of these articles, this corporation will not carry on any other activities not permitted to be carried on by (a) a corporation exempt from Federal income tax under sections 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or the corresponding provision of any future United States internal revenue law or (b) a corporation, contributions to which are deductible under section 170(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or any other corresponding provision of any future United States internal revenue law.